India Presidential Election Process How Is The President Of India Elected Ann


How We Choose President: The Election Commission is going to announce the election program for the 15th President of India today, June 9, Thursday, at three o’clock in the afternoon. For this, a press conference will be held at Vigyan Bhawan at 3 pm. Significantly, the term of the current President of the country, Ram Nath Kovind, ends on July 24. President Kovind was sworn in as the 14th President of India on 25 July 2017. The 15th President of the country is to take oath on 25 July 2022. Yes, we have brought you the answer to every question related to the presidential election.

Electoral College for Presidential Election:

The President is elected by the Electoral College. The electoral college that votes in the presidential election is also considered important. The elected members of the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha, and in addition, the elected members of all the Legislative Assemblies, make up the electoral college. The members of the Legislative Council are not its members. Nominated members of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha are also not its members. The electoral college is made up of 776 MPs (excluding nominated) and 4120 MLAs of the Legislative Assembly.

NDA marginally away from majority figure

Talking about the current situation, political alliances in the electoral college, the Congress-led UPA alliance, has about 23 percent of the vote. On the other hand, the ruling BJP-led NDA alliance has around 49 per cent votes. The NDA will need the support of BJD and YSRC to get its candidate to be the President. Ramnath Kovind got 65.35% votes in the last presidential election. NDA will try to touch this figure this time too. PM Modi has met Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Jagan Mohan Reddy. It is understood that the PM has sought support for the NDA candidate in the presidential election, although both these leaders want the name of the NDA candidate to appear first and then the decision on support will be taken.

2017 presidential election

Earlier, the votes for the presidential election were held on 17 July 2017 and the counting of votes took place on 20 July. Ramnath Kovind was elected President in this election. He assumed his office on 25 July 2017. He has been elected as the 14th President of the country.

read this also:

UP Election 2022 Voting: Know- What is the preparation of the Election Commission for the first phase of elections?

Uttarakhand Election 2022: Election Commission holds meeting with political parties regarding elections, talks were held on these issues

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.